» Cork

The high fielding powerful eight and nines may be replaced my mobile movers in the middle third. looks at the 10 best midfielders since the turn of the millennium: 10. BRIAN FENTON (Dublin) Only an under 21 in 2014, Fenton has established himself as probably the game’s current top midfielder. Was man of the match in the 2015 final and was a key member of the successful win[..]

10. ANDY COMERFORD (Kilkenny) Won a ‘B’ All-Ireland with London before turning his attention to the Cats. A member of the panel when Brian Cody took over, the powerhouse midfielder was a driving force in three All-Ireland wins including being the winning captain in 2002. Andy Comerford with spoils of victory after year as #Kilkenny captain in 2002 #gaa #nostalgia[..]

CLARE 1-13 LIMERICK 1-12 (Sunday, 28th May – Munster Senior Championship) Limerick substitute Josh Ryan nearly saved Limerick’s blushes in Ennis when his late goal reduced arrears to one point. Clare led 1-8 to 0-6 at half-time after Eoin Cleary’s ninth minute major and with David Tubridy and Keelan Sexton also scoring, they led by four. Ryan got the green flag following an intercep[..]

Fixtures (Subject to Change): Saturday 27th June – (Quarter-Final) – Waterford vs Cork (7pm Fraher Field, Dungarvan) Sunday 28th June – (Quarter-Final) - Clare vs Limerick (3.30pm Cusack Park, Ennis) Saturday 10th June – (Semi-Final) – Cork/Waterford vs Tipperary (7pm Pairc Ui Rinn/Semple Stadium) Sunday 11th June – (Semi-Final) – Clare/Limerick vs Kerry (Cusack Park, Enn[..]

“Right Here We Go” – Damien Cahalane

Posted by Keith Nulty in News | May 2017

When John McGrath struck Tipperary’s goal, it appeared to signal a turn in fortunes and an expectation that the All-Ireland champions were going to drive for the finish line. McGrath’s strike put Tipperary 1-24 to 1-23 ahead but within 80 seconds, Cork nailed two white flags to overturn the deficit. They responded to another Premier County fight back before Michael Cahalane’s goal ensure[..]

CORK 2-27 TIPPERARY 1-26 (Sunday, 21st May – Semple Stadium) The hurling summer began with a bang as All-Ireland champions Tipperary lost their Munster title after a cracking contest. The teams were level 16 times, shared 55 scores but Cork emerged triumphant against their great rivals in Thurles for the first time since 2006. It was also the Rebels first Munster win since 2014 as secon[..]


Posted by Keith Nulty in News | May 2017

Ulster Senior Football Championship – MONAGHAN vs FERMANAGH (Saturday – 7pm Clones) Monaghan – Rory Beggan; Fintan Kelly, Drew Wylie, Ryan Wylie; Colin Walshe, Vinny Corey, Neil McAdam; Kieran Hughes, Karl O'Connell; Gavin Doogan, Shane Carey, Dessie Ward; Conor McCarthy, Jack McCarron, Conor McManus.[..]

TIPPERARY vs CORK (Sunday, 21st May – 4pm Semple Stadium) Considered ‘unbeatable’ just two months earlier, suddenly Tipperary are carrying doubts and reservations as they begin the defence of their Munster and national titles. After beating Kilkenny in the 2016 Al-Ireland final, the Premier County blazed through their opening league assignments before hitting their first obstacle. A P[..]

SATURDAY 20TH MAY Ulster Senior Football Championship MONAGHAN vs FERMANAGH (7pm Clones) Christy Ring Cup Semi-Finals CARLOW vs WICKLOW (3pm Netwatch Cullen Park) ANTRIM vs DOWN (5pm Cushendall) Nicky Rackard Cup Semi-Finals TYRONE vs ARMAGH (3pm Carrickmore) MONAGHAN vs DERRY (5pm Inniskeen) Christy Ring Cup Relegation Play-Off MAYO vs ROSCOMMON (5pm Pairc Sean Mac Diarmada) [..]

Munster Senior Hurling Championship – Sunday, 21st May – 4pm Semple Stadium PADRAIC MAHER (Tipperary) The recent Garda graduate has been the enforcer on the field during some of Tipperary’s best days. A two-time All-Ireland winner and four-time All-Star, he leads by example. Expect the county captain to be on plenty of ball snuffing out any Cork threat. ALAN CADOGEN (Cork) [..]