» Ulster Senior Football – TOO EASY FOR TYRONE!

28 May

Ulster Senior Football – TOO EASY FOR TYRONE!

Posted by Keith Nulty in Match Previews / Reports,News | May 2017

Tyrone 0-22 Derry 0-11 (Sunday, 28th May – Celtic Park)

The stats look impressive but this was a stroll for a Tyrone side nowhere near their best as they booked an Ulster semi-final meeting with Donegal on June 18th. Gradually, Mickey Harte’s team built a 0-5 to 0-0 advantage and maintained that buffer before pulling clear in the final 20 minutes.

Tyrone had the luxury of 12 wides as Derry’s place among the footballing elite was called into question. Bar the opening five minutes of the second half when the Oak Leafers outscored their opponents by 0-3 to 0-1, Damian Barton’s team were a clear second best.

The atmosphere in Celtic Park was very poor compared to meetings past. Niall Loughlin got their first point on 16 minutes and a second three minutes later. But Sean Cavanagh (4), Conall McCann, Peter Harte, Mark Bradley and Rory Brennan pushed Tyrone 0-8 to 0-2 ahead on 20 minutes.

Derry did reduce arrears to four as Ciaran McFaul and Danny Heavron pointed but the double scores difference remained at half-time. Loughlin got Derry’s fifth after Tyrone points for Tiernan McCann and Cavanagh had the Ulster champions 0-10 to 0-5 ahead.

However, the intensity seemed to increase upon the restart as Keenan got on the scoreboard but Cavanagh maintained Tyrone’s lead. But when Enda Lynn and Heron raised white flags by 40 minutes making it 0-11 to 0-8, this championship contest looked set to spark into life.

Ulster is considered the best of the provincial championships and exhibit A for the traditionalists intent on maintaining the provincial structure. But outside the top three, the gaps are appearing with too much regularity as Donegal and Monaghan demonstrated the previous Sunday.

Peter Harte, Cavanagh, Darren McCurry (2) and David Mulgrew had Tyrone 0-16 to 0-8 ahead before Loughlin ended a 22 minute Derry drought. McCann, Declan McClure and McCurry got another three Tyrone scores as this contest was now officially over.

Shane McGuigan and Carlus McWilliams got Derry’s last two points with Colm Cavanagh and Lee Brennan (2) replying for Tyrone. The teams shared 19 different scorers and 23 wides. Tyrone advance while Derry have their work cut out to repeat their three-match qualifier run from 2016.

“At times it was very good and at times we could do things better” – HARTE


Tyrone – Sean Cavanagh 0-7, Darren McCurry 0-3, Conall McCann 0-2, Peter Harte 0-2, Lee Brennan 0-2, Mark Bradley 0-1, Rory Brennan 0-1, Tiernan McCann 0-1, David Mulgrew 0-1, Declan McClure 0-1, Colm Cavanagh 0-1.

Derry – Niall Loughlin 0-4, Ciaran McFaul 0-1, Danny Heavron 0-1, Niall Keenan 0-1, Enda Lynn 0-1, Benny Heron 0-1, Shane McGuigan 0-1, Carlus McWilliams 0-1.

Starting Line-Ups:

Tyrone – Niall Morgan; Aidan McCrory, Ronan McNamee, Pádraig Hampsey; Tiernan McCann, Rory Brennan, Peter Harte; Colm Cavanagh, Conall McCann; Kieran McGeary, Niall Sludden, Conor Meyler; Mark Bradley, Sean Cavanagh, Matthew Donnelly.

Derry – Ben McKinless; Niall Keenan, Brendan Rogers, Karl McKaigue; Ciaran McFaul, Chrissy McKaigue, Carlus McWilliams; Conor McAtamney, Danny Heavron; Ryan Bell, Niall Loughlin, Enda Lynn; Danny Tallon, Emmett McGuckin, Benny Heron.

(Video: Eir Sport)

For all the GAA daily news follow LiveGaelic on twitter at @LiveGaelicScore

Leave a Response

Mail(will not be published)(required)