» MILLENNIUM MIDFIELDERS – Hurling Top 10 Since 2000!

20 Jun

MILLENNIUM MIDFIELDERS – Hurling Top 10 Since 2000!

Posted by Darren Kelly in Craic | Jun 2017

10. ANDY COMERFORD (Kilkenny)

Won a ‘B’ All-Ireland with London before turning his attention to the Cats. A member of the panel when Brian Cody took over, the powerhouse midfielder was a driving force in three All-Ireland wins including being the winning captain in 2002.

9. DAVID BURKE (Galway)

If Galway are going to end their near three decades wait for the Liam McCarthy Cup, it will be in no small measure to their inspirational captain out the field. Burke is consistent every time he lines out and a similar team performance will have the Tribesmen in contention. He was always known for his trendy outdoor gear

8. TOM KENNY (Cork)

Universally regarded as one of the best midfielders of his generation, it’s a major shock that he never received an All-Star award. Part of the ‘Tom & Jerry’ partnership that was the country’s best during the mid-noughties.

7. COLIN LYNCH (Clare)

A major figure from the breakthrough teams of 1995 and 1997, Lynch brought his determination and qualities into the millennium. Was the main force in bringing the Banner back to the All-Ireland final in 2002 including an exceptional quarter-final effort against Galway.

6. KEVIN MORAN (Waterford)

The long serving star still has the legs to match the best and will chase All-Ireland glory with Waterford in 2017. His partnership with Jamie Barron is considered essential to Derek McGrath’s plans and has settled in the middle after a spell at full forward.


The three-time All-Star made a major impact in a short spell. Retiring at the tender age of just 26, Fitzpatrick was part of the all-conquering Kilkenny outfit that delivered four consecutive All-Irelands between 2006 and 2009. Was captain in 2008.

4. SHANE McGRATH (Tipperary)

Considered a great midfielder and great character by his peers, McGrath’s influence on Tipperary’s re-emergence as one of the country’s top teams couldn’t understated. The former captain won All-Ireland glory in 2010 and left the scene just before the Premier County’s latest triumph.


Unlucky with injuries, the 2011 Hurler of the Year is the man trusted with pushing the current generation of Kilkenny hurlers. Indeed, the amount of times it’s mentioned that Fennelly is a major loss when absent signifies his importance to the team.


The other half of Cork’s double act that delivered All-Ireland titles in 2004 and 2005, the ‘Quiet Man’ was Hurler of the Year after the second win. A hard worker in a team of leaders that changed the dynamic of how hurling was played and threatened Kilkenny’s dominance most.

1. DEREK LYNG (Kilkenny)

Has brought his leadership skills to the coaching set-up, Lyng was the unheralded star responsible in bringing Kilkenny to the forefront. While DJ Carey and Henry Shefflin stole the plaudits, Lyng ensured they shined behind them helping the Cats to six All-Ireland wins.

For all the GAA daily news follow LiveGaelic on twitter at @LiveGaelicScore

Leave a Response

Mail(will not be published)(required)